Yesterday, the United Nations General Assembly elected five new non-permanent members to serve on the Security Council from January 2013 to December 2014. A seat on the Security Council has long been coveted for the prominence it gives a country and its agenda in the international arena.

The Republic of Korea, Luxembourg, Australia and Rwanda were all selected to the Security Council by a two-thirds majority in the General Assembly, while Argentina was voted in unanimously. These five countries join last year’s non-permanent members: Pakistan, Morocco, Azerbaijan, Togo, and Guatemala. Together, the non-permanent states sit on the Security Council with the permanent five: the United States, United Kingdom, France, Russia, and China.

Above, find an illustrated map of the new, current and outgoing members of the Security Council listed along with their rank on the Human Development Index (HDI). The HDI, compiled annually by the United Nations, ranks composite scores of life expectancy, years of education and gross national income per capita for each country. Although this measurement is not without its critics, it is the most prominent way to compare countries in terms of development.