The American labor movement is at a critical moment in its history. As workers, advocates, and union leaders chart a path forward, what initiatives, reforms, and organizing models hold the most promise to restore power to working people?

On February 8-9, hear from the nation’s top labor leaders, including AFT President Randi Weingarten President, SEIU President Mary Kay Henry, and AFSCME President Lee Saunders, alongside former U.S. Secretary of Labor Tom Perez and Co-chair of the Congressional Progressive Caucus Rep. Pramila Jayapal (D-WA), among others, as they discuss and debate the future of organized labor.

“The Future of American Labor: Initiatives for a New Era” is sponsored by the Albert Shanker Institute, The Century Foundation, and The Harrison Institute for Public Law. Additional support is provided by The American Prospect, Dissent, Kalmanovitz Initiative for Labor and the Working Poor Georgetown University, and Rutgers School of Management and Labor Relations.

Event Details

Friday, February 8, 2019
12:30PM to 6:00PM

Saturday, February 9, 2019
9:30AM to 4:00PM

Georgetown University Law Center
Hart Auditorium
600 New Jersey Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20001

Panels during the two-day conference include:

  • A Legislative and Policy Agenda for American Labor
  • Sectoral Bargaining Internationally: What Are The Lessons for American Labor?
  • Sectoral Bargaining: America’s Past, Present and Future
  • Public Sector Unionism Moves Forward in the Wake of Janus
  • Teacher Insurgency: What Are The Strategic Challenges?
  • Organizing Millennials Using Digital Communication Tools

Confirmed speakers include:

  • Rep. Pramila Jayapal (D-WA), Co-Chair of the Congressional Progressive Caucus
  • Tom Perez, former U.S. Secretary of Labor; Chairman, Democratic National Committee
  • Randi Weingarten, President, American Federation of Teachers
  • Lee Saunders, President, American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees
  • Mary Kay Henry, President, Service Employees International Union
  • Chris Shelton, President, Communications Workers of America
  • Becky Pringle, Vice President, National Education Association
  • Bob King, former President, The International Union, United Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural Implement Workers of America (UAW)
  • Fred Albert, President, AFT-West Virginia
  • Kate Andrias, University of Michigan Law School
  • Craig Becker, General Counsel, AFL-CIO
  • Harvey Bischof, President, Ontario Secondary School Teachers Federation, Canada
  • Kate Bronfenbrenner, Director of Education Research, Senior Lecturer, Cornell University’s School of Industrial and Labor Relations
  • Leo Casey, Executive Director, Albert Shanker Institute
  • Larry Cohen, former President, Communication Workers of America (CWA)
  • Karen Curtis, Deputy Director, International Labor Standards Department, ILO
  • Elizabeth Davis, President, Washington Teachers Union
  • Keith Ewing, Professor of Law, King’s College London
  • Sarita Gupta, Co-Executive Director, Jobs with Justice
  • Carolyn Jones, Director and John Hendy, General Counsel, UK Institute for Employment Rights
  • Brent McDonnell, Georgetown Alliance of Graduate Employees (GAGE)
  • Harold Meyerson, Executive Editor, The American Prospect
  • Cecilia Nahon, Argentine labor expert, American University
  • Sandra Polaski, Independent Expert; former Deputy Director General, ILO
  • Mark Zuckerman, President, The Century Foundation